Evening without an internet connection

Varinka Turquoise
March 2013

Life’s too much bonded with technologies; one cannot survive a day without internet-the advantage of gaining knowledge without going nowhere but a huge disadvantage of making oneself a dull, isolated person. 


Similarly no single day or night was I without internet, ‘like’ people’s post on Facebook, have nothing important to do, still share something unnecessary (as if it’s a compulsion) stupidly act gleeful to see many likes rather than comments, check who’s online, a flash of some morons message sets off our finger to offline ourself or log it off. Check lyrics after that, go through recent happenings, get drenched in thoughts after reading the scams and scandals. How corrupted people can be! (After all power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely) read old mails and smile as if every message contained a brief joke. Feel lethargic, and give a glance to Skype, if no regards- upload a new attention and onset it feeling curious about the likes and comments of the last share in facebook makes us switch back to it again, have a long look of the latest feed, sneak through someone’s wall, poke a crush etc., are the activities which we get involved everyday making our self move a step behind, knowing more about people but understanding them less personally.

It was some years ago…. my internet connection was lost and I had no genuine thing to do, I couldn’t go through the marketplace from my phone, neither fb, I was home alone or stranded. But surprisingly it felt blissful to grab some fresh gentle breeze, butter-flying my face and tangling my hair fro, in the mean time I had a respectful talk to people walking aloof, watched the stars turn brighter, and heard mosquitoes hovering around, it was for the first time I dint get mad at mosquitoes 🙂

After the magnificent encounters I walked back to my cozy room and texted people whom I often whatsapp-ed. It’d been such a long forgotten time that I last received texts, besides Airtel, I don’t.

I in fact missed my phone beep, notifying a message. I gave a call to my friends and spoke to them for a couple of minutes, listening to their voice eased me off a big time. Dusted my old album after the phonic conversation, flipping the pages without slides is somewhat interesting, of course multitasking is uneasy when we’ve to manipulate things, still it was worth to retrospect the days gone by. People hardly have photo albums these days; it is perhaps replaced with folders in the P.C, flash drives, memory cards, etc. Re-flipping the pages of the photographic content made me realize that I’d an assignment pending, killing my laziness my hand reached to an old tattered, cello taped book given by my senior.

Unexpected happens! Up to my surprise the index was missing, I had to turn the never ending pages to search ‘the pros and cons of small newspapers.’ After I jotted down the entire chapter I understood what hard work exactly means. The introduction of technologies made life a copy-paste business. The checklist was cleared; I still had time for the connection to accept as promised by the customer care executive, that’s when I started writing….

The connection blinked as a sign of internet availability after I wrote a paragraph, I couldn’t restrain.

I was online- in multiple accounts 🙂
Here, I post my past-time activity as a note too.

2 thoughts on “Evening without an internet connection

  1. You always have so many things hidden in your writings beside the main subject, you go through every little description of the surrounding which also carries a different story or a meaning itself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

